Brands I’ve missed: #6 Penguin biscuits

0__26186_zoom

I’ve always had a sweet tooth which has manifest itself in a love of puddings, cakes, biscuits and other miscellaneous treats. But above all, it has led to a love of chocolate.

One of the earliest forms of chocolate I can recall being allowed to eat was the Penguin biscuit – chocolate biscuits with a chocolate filling, coated in chocolate. All up a chocoholic’s dream.

Whilst in Sydney I have managed to satisfy my choc-desires to some extent with the similarly endowed Tim Tam, but it was good to see an old friend winking at me once again from the biscuit shelves recently, albeit clothed in a garish new wrapping.

And of course, no mention of Penguins would be complete without reference to their classic advertising campaign which spawned the legendary “p-p-p-pick up a Penguin” slogan. They don’t write them like that anymore.

I’d like to think the campaign could be re-run effectively today, but sadly I don’t think penguins would be allowed to roam freely through a fairground in the current draconian climate of health and safety restrictions. Shame.

2 thoughts on “Brands I’ve missed: #6 Penguin biscuits

Leave a Reply

